Gilligan's Island

Sep. 26, 1964
Duration: 30 min/episode
Rated: TV-G
Status: Ended

Seasons and episodes

3Season 3Sep. 12, 1966
2Season 2Sep. 16, 1965
1Season 1Sep. 26, 1964



Bob Denver
Alan Hale Jr.
Jonas "The Skipper" Grumby
Russell Johnson
Roy "The Professor" Hinkley
Jim Backus
Thurston Howell, III
Tina Louise
Ginger Grant
Dawn Wells
Mary Ann Summers
Natalie Schafer
Eunice "Lovey" Wentworth Howell


Gilligan's Island is an American sitcom created and produced by Sherwood Schwartz and originally produced by United Artists Television. The situation comedy series featured Bob Denver; Alan Hale, Jr.; Jim Backus; Natalie Schafer; Tina Louise; Russell Johnson; and Dawn Wells. It aired for three seasons on the CBS network from September 26, 1964, to September 4, 1967. Originally sponsored by Philip Morris & Company and Procter & Gamble, the show followed the comic adventures of seven castaways as they attempted to survive the island on which they had been shipwrecked. Most episodes revolve around the dissimilar castaways' conflicts and their failed attempts to escape their plight. Gilligan's Island ran for a total of 98 episodes. The first season, consisting of 36 episodes, was filmed in black-and-white. These episodes were later colorized for syndication. The show's second and third seasons and the three television movie sequels were filmed in color. The show enjoyed solid ratings during its original run, then grew in popularity during decades of syndication, especially in the 1970s and 1980s when many markets ran the show in the late afternoon after school. Today, the title character of Gilligan is widely recognized as an American cultural icon.

Gilligan's Island
Gilligan's Island
Original titleGilligan's Island
First air dateSep. 26, 1964
Last air dateApr. 17, 1967
IMDb Rating7.312 871 votes
TMDb Rating7.2114 votes

Similar titles

Bridge and Tunnel
Resident Alien
The Snoopy Show
Yeh Meri Family
Crash Landing on You
Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing
Ted Lasso
Hostel Daze