Rocko's Modern Life

Sep. 18, 1993
Duration: 30 min/episode
Rated: TV-Y
Status: Ended

Seasons and episodes

4Season 4Jul. 07, 1996
3Season 3Oct. 22, 1995
2Season 2Oct. 02, 1994
1Season 1Sep. 17, 1993


Joe Murray


Tom Kenny
Heffer Wolfe (voice)
Carlos Alazraqui
Rocko (voice)
Mr. Lawrence
Filburt Turtle (voice)
Charlie Adler
Ed Bighead (voice) / Bev Bighead (voice)
Linda Wallem
Virginia Wolfe (voice) / Dr. Paula Hutchison (voice)


Rocko's Modern Life is an American animated series created by Joe Murray. The show aired for four seasons between 1993 and 1996 on Nickelodeon. Rocko's Modern Life is based around the surreal, parodic adventures of an anthropomorphic, Australian-immigrant wallaby named Rocko, and his new life in the city of O-Town. The show explores his American life as well as the lives of his friends: the gluttonous steer Heffer, the neurotic turtle Filburt, and Rocko's faithful dog, Spunky. The show is laden with adult humor, including double entendres, innuendos, and satirical social commentary. Joe Murray initially created the title character for an unpublished comic book series in the late 1980s, and later reluctantly pitched the series to Nickelodeon, who were looking for edgier cartoonists for their new Nicktoons block. The network gave the staff a large amount of creative freedom, the writers targeting both children and adults. The show's animation stylistically features crooked architecture. In addition, Murray picked many newcomer voice actors, such as Tom Kenny and Carlos Alazraqui, who have gone on to become very popular. The show was the fourth Nicktoon to premiere. Kenny described the show's impact in an interview, saying, "Rocko's Modern Life was just one of those shows that were the first break for a lot of people who went on to do other stuff in the business."

Original titleRocko's Modern Life
First air dateSep. 18, 1993
Last air dateNov. 24, 1996
IMDb Rating7.919 310 votes
TMDb Rating7.8133 votes

Similar titles

Men in Kilts: A Roadtrip with Sam and Graham
The Mandalorian
Vinland Saga
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba
The Promised Neverland
Ted Lasso
Crash Landing on You
The Boys
Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing