Keeping Up Appearances

Keeping Up Appearances

Oct. 29, 1990
Duration: 60 min/episode
Rated: TV-PG
Status: Ended

Seasons and episodes

5Season 5Sep. 03, 1995
4Season 4Sep. 05, 1993
3Season 3Sep. 06, 1992
2Season 2Sep. 01, 1991
1Season 1Oct. 29, 1990


Keeping Up Appearances is a British sitcom created and written by Roy Clarke for the BBC. Centred on the life of eccentric, social-climbing snob Hyacinth Bucket, the sitcom follows her obsessive and determined attempts to impress in middle class society and portray herself as more affluent than she truly is. The show stars Patricia Routledge, who received two BAFTA nominations for her performance as Hyacinth. Broadcast between 1990 and 1995 on BBC One, the sitcom spawned five series and 44 episodes—4 of which are Christmas specials. Keeping Up Appearances was a great success in the UK and also captivated a large audience in the US, Canada, and Australia, but production ceased in 1995 when Routledge wanted to move on to other projects. Since its original release, all five series—including Christmas specials—are available on DVD. In 2004, the sitcom was ranked 12th in the countdown of Britain's Best Sitcom. It is regularly repeated worldwide.

Keeping Up Appearances
Original titleKeeping Up Appearances
First air dateOct. 29, 1990
Last air dateNov. 05, 1995
IMDb Rating7.814 064 votes
TMDb Rating7.678 votes

Similar titles

Resident Alien
The Snoopy Show
Bridge and Tunnel
Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing
Crash Landing on You
Ted Lasso
Hostel Daze
The Family Man